Personal capabilities

The personal capabilities describe the ways in which people manage themselves and their relationships with others in the workplace. In other words they are about the attitudes, behaviour and softer skills which are essential to good practice in social services. There is evidence that they are crucial for the workforce to put their knowledge, skills, values, qualifications and training into practice, to do this throughout their careers and to continuously learn and improve their practice. By supporting employees to build on their personal capabilities we can have the most positive impact on people who use social services.

There are 13 personal capabilities, five relating to how people manage their relationships with others in the workplace and eight relating to how they manage themselves. The personal capabilities are:

Managing relationships:

  • empowering people
  • working in partnership
  • leadership
  • empathy
  • dealing with conflict.

Managing self:

  • professional autonomy
  • lifelong learning
  • flexibility
  • confidence
  • resilience
  • accurate self-assessment
  • awareness of impact on others
  • awareness of wider context.

This video gives a brief overview of the personal/organisational capabilities that are explained within the Continuous Learning Framework.

In the CLF, each of the personal capabilities is described across four stages of progression; engaged, established, accomplished and exemplary. There are a number of indicators under each of the stages of progression which describe what each personal capability might look like and provide ways in which each stage could be evidenced. This allows social service workers to develop their personal capabilities and gain recognition for their progress. It also allows employers to set benchmarks for the behaviours and soft skills they expect their staff to demonstrate in different job roles and encourage them to develop further.

You can download a copy of the Personal Capabilities in Word format here.