Organisational capabilities

An individual can be committed to doing a good job but unless they are part of an organisation that supports them to learn it can be difficult for them to make the most of their capabilities. Employers have a responsibility to support the learning and development of their staff. To help them, the organisational capabilities describe the culture and conditions in the workplace that enable social service workers to be the best they can be. The six organisational capabilities are:

  • creating a learning and performance culture
  • planning for learning, development and improved practice
  • promoting access to learning and development opportunities
  • promoting access to feedback
  • treating people with dignity and respect
  • focusing on health and wellbeing.

Like the personal capabilities, the organisational capabilities are described across four stages of progression – engaged, established, accomplished and exemplary. However, each organisational capability has two sets of indicators. The first describes how the organisation might evidence practice for each of the stages of progression. The second describes what it might look like for the social services worker if their employer was demonstrating the capability at each stage of progression. This allows employers to make sure that their systems, policies and processes are having an impact at the front line.

The SSSC and IRISS have worked with the Care Inspectorate to make sure that there are links between the organisational capabilities, SWIA’s Performance Inspection Model (PIM) and the Care Inspectorate’s Quality Themes and Statements.

You can download a copy of the Organisational Capabilities in Word format here.